You can commit Workbench resources that you have modified to the repository so that other team members can see your work. Only those changes committed on that branch will be visible to others working on that branch. The commit command can be issued from two places: the Team > Commit menu, or the Synchronize view.
You can preview files that are about to be committed from the Comment page. If any of the files are known to be conflicting changes, the commit will not be allowed. If there are no known conflicting changes the commit will be allowed but there could still be conflicting changes on the server (i.e. conflicting changes on the server become known to the client during a synchronize operation). If there are conflicting changes on any files that are committed, the operation will fail. If this occurs, you must either perform an update or use the Synchronize view to resolve the conflicts. It is considered a more ideal workflow to always update before committing in order to ensure that you have the latest state of the repository before committing more changes.
If one or more of the resources being committed are new and not yet added to VCS control, they will be added automatically unless they are explicitly removed by choosing Remove from View from the context menu.
Tip: You can commit files that are in conflict by performing an Override and Commit. This will commit the Workbench copy of the resource into the repository and thus remove any of the incoming changes.
Warning: The behavior of the Override and Commit command described above only applies to the outgoing mode of the Synchronize view. In the Incoming/Outgoing mode of the view, the behavior for outgoing changes and conflicts is the same but the command will revert incoming changes to whatever the local Workbench contents are. Exercise great caution if using this command in incoming/outgoing mode.