Detached views and editors are shown in a separate window with a smaller trim. They work like other views and editors except they they are always shown in front of the Workbench window.
To detach a view:
To restore the view to be shown inside of the Workbench window, drag the view tab into the Workbench window.
The same procedure can be followed to detach and restore editors.
Moving and docking views
Saving a user-defined perspective