Detaching views and editors

Detached views and editors are shown in a separate window with a smaller trim. They work like other views and editors except they they are always shown in front of the Workbench window.

To detach a view:

  1. If the Workbench window is maximized, resize it so that it does not fill the entire screen.
  2. Click the title bar of the view that you want to detach. Hold the mouse button down.
  3. Drag the view outside of the Workbench window and release the mouse button. You can also drag the view into the window of a previously detached view to have multiple detached views together.

To restore the view to be shown inside of the Workbench window, drag the view tab into the Workbench window.

The same procedure can be followed to detach and restore editors.

Related concepts.
Detached views

Related tasks
Opening views
Moving and docking views
Saving a user-defined perspective
Resetting perspectives