Changing build order

By default, the Workbench computes the build order by interpreting project references as prerequisite relationships. Alternatively, you can explicitly define the order in which projects are built.

The Build Order preference page allows you to disable the Use default build order option so that you can access the projects list and manipulate the order of it.

To define the order in which the Workbench performs builds projects:

  1. Open the command link General > Workspace > Build Order preference page.
  2. Ensure that the Use default build order checkbox is cleared. If it is selected, the buttons on this page are disabled, and builds are performed in the order of the project list.
  3. (Optional) Click Add Project and Remove Project buttons to add and remove projects from the list.
  4. Select one or more projects in the list and click Up or Down to to set the preferred project build order.
  5. Click OK to close the Preferences dialog.

Related concepts

Related tasks
Performing builds manually
Performing builds automatically