Synchronizing with a CVS repository

In the CVS team programming environment, there are two distinct processes involved in synchronizing resources: updating with the latest changes from a branch and committing to the branch. 

When you make changes in the Workbench, the resources are saved locally.  Eventually you will want to commit your changes to the branch so others can have access to them.  Meanwhile, others may have committed changes to the branch.  You will want to update your Workbench resources with their changes.

Important!: It is preferable to update before committing, in case there are conflicts with the resources in your Workbench and the resources currently in the branch.  

The synchronize view contains filters to control whether you want to view only incoming changes or outgoing changes. Incoming changes come from the branch. If accepted, they will update the Workbench resource to the latest version currently committed into the branch. Outgoing changes come from the Workbench. If committed, they will change the branch resources to match those currently present in the Workbench.

Regardless of which mode (filter) you select, the Synchronize view always shows you conflicts that arise when you have locally modified a resource for which a more recent version is available in the branch. In this situation you can choose to do one of three things: update the resource from the branch, commit your version of the resource to the branch, or merge your work with the changes in the branch resource. Typically you will want to merge, as the other two options will result in loss of work.

Related concepts
Team programming with CVS

Related tasks
Synchronizing with the repository


Resolving conflicts

Merging from a branch


Related references
CVS Synchronize view