CVS Update/Merge

The command link Team > CVS > Update/Merge preferences page contains options which affect the update/merge workflows.

Option Description Default
When performing an update Use this option to select what the workflow should be for performing an update. The options are:
  • Preview all incoming changes before updating:
    All incoming changes are displayed in either the synchronize view or a dialog. You must explicitly select which resources to update and deal with conflicts.
  • Update all non-conflicting changes and preview remaining updates:
    All non-conflicting resources are updated automatically and a list of conflicts (if applicable) are presented to you in either the synchronize view or a dialog.
  • Never preview and use CVS text markup to indicate conflicts:
    All non-conflicting resources are updated automatically and conflicts are dealt with by adding the conflicting code to the file and using CVS text markup to delineate the boundaries of the conflict. You must then go through each file that had a conflict, look for the markup, and manually merge the contents.
Never preview and use CVS text markup to indicate conflicts
When an update preview is required Use this option to configure how to preview incoming changes. Changes can be previewed in a dialog or in the Synchronize view. Preview updates in the Synchronize view.

Here is what the CVS Update/Merge preference page looks like:

Team Preference Page CVS Synchronize view